ree of justice


During the General Assembly in Corinth in October 2014, Archbishop Jean-Claude Hollerich from Luxembourg took over the Presidency of the Conference from Bishop William Kenney. He will be assisted in his work by the Executive Committee. His main task will be to accompany the transition of the General Secretariat of the Conference of European Justice and Peace Commissions to Brussels, where it will have its permanent seat.   

Early 2014 Bishop William Kenney and Cardinal Reinhard Marx, archbishop Munich-Freising and president of COMECE signed a cooperation agreement, which notably foresees the establishment of General secretariat in the premises of the COMECE secretariat in Brussels. 

The tenure of the Presidency is a period of three years, after which it shall be taken over by another national commission. The General Assembly elects the President, Vice-President and Secretary General. 

For its mandate the Presidency proposes the Conference an overall theme to reflect and work on. The President is authorized to make statements in matters that confirm the general basics of Justice and Peace. He is authorized to issue statements also between the sessions of ExCo, the Meeting of the Secretaries General and the General Assembly. He will discuss his proposals and statements with the Secretary General. 

Names and addresses: 

H.E. Mgr Noël Treanor
Bishop of Down and Connor (Northern Ireland)

73 Somerton Road,

Belfast BT15 4DE

Phone.: +44 (0)28 9077 6185  


Prof. Ingeborg Gabriel  


Institut für Sozialethik 
Schenkenstraße 8     
A-1010 Wien  
Phone.:   +43 1 427731002   

Stefan Lunte
Secretary general  

Square de Meeûs 19 
1050 Bruxelles 
Phone: +32(2)2300517 

H.E. Mgr Jean-Claude Hollerich
Prof. Ingeborg Gabriel